About District

The present Tenkasi district was a part of erstwhile Tirunelveli district. Tenkasi district was formed in 2019 as per G.O. No 427 dated 12.11.2019.

Tenkasi shares its boundaries with Virudhunagar in the North, Thoothukudi in the East, Tirunelveli in the South and Kerala in the West. The district is nourished by two major rivers namely Chittar and Anumanadhi, because of which agriculture flourishes in this area. More than 65% of the population is engaged in agriculture and related activities. Water sources such as Gundar, Adavinayinar, Karupanadhi and Ramanadhi dam along with more than 800 tanks succour irrigation.

The waterfalls formed by the rivers attract a lot of tourists to the district. The famous Coutrallam falls situated in the river Chittar is well known across the state. The water from this falls is believed to have medicinal properties, because of which the falls is considered as a “medical spa”. Among 8 other falls in the district, Peraruvi, Aindharuvi and Puli aruvi are prominent ones.

Tenkasi is known for some of the significant spiritual places in South Tamilnadu. The Kutraleeshwarar temple (Chitra Sabha) is located in Tenkasi. It is one of the five sabhas of Nataraja, an incarnation of Lord Shiva. Tamil poet Thirikooda Rasappa Kavirayar describes the imposing beauty of this place in his poem “Kutrala Kuravanji”. The Kasi Viswanathar temple, Sankarankoil temple, Pottalpudur darga, Ilangi Kumarar temple are the spiritual places located here.